Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wireless network issue please help?

Wireless network issue please help?

I'm a complete noob at all this networking stuff so I will try my best to explain,Ok so I'm living in a sleep-out roughly 25 meters away from the main house where the wireless router is located and stationed which is connected to my parents desktop.Here in my sleepout I only get about 1-2 bars of wifi which usually cuts out and then resulting in me not having any internet at all ,ticks me off when I'm trying to download something and then it cut out all of a sudden(waste of bandwidth),anyway you might say get a long etherent cable out there which 1. is quite hard since you cant bury it in soil when its a concrete tiled courtyard to my sleepout and is a bit risky being exposed dangling in the air or prone to rain and that.and 2.I want to connect more than my laptop like my ipod touch and xbox 360 with inbuilt wifi to the internet at once,I don't want to folk out for a wireless range extender as I've heard they aren't the best and a kind of costly seen as I'm paying for everything and I'm just a teenager haha,also none of that poor mans wifi bullshit like making tin can satillites and what not.sooo I have resorted into a cheaper solution like purchasing another wireless router which only has to be pugged into power not a phoneline aswell.WHAT I"M REALLY WANTING TO KNOW IS HOW I WOULD SET THIS UP AND DOES IT REQUIRE THAT BOTH THE WIRELESS ROUTER IN THE MAIN HOUSE BE CONNECTED TO THE ONE I MIGHT PURCHASE TO GET WIFI IN MY ROOM? like do they have to be connected by a freaking long expensive Ethernet cable to be able to set this up please help I'm begging sorry I'm just really tired of not having internet in my room as my dad just says to me it's my problem and that I have to figure it out on my ow.THANK YOU IN ADVANCE I REALLY WANT WIFI IN MY SLEEPOUT

Family Friendly Mascot Buffalobiian's Avatar